Texas Association for Symphony Orchestras (TASO) is composed of twenty-three member organizations, each of which is a volunteer organization dedicated to the financial support of its own respective orchestra. The organization is guided by a twenty-five member governing board and thirty-three member state board. Additional support for the organization is provided by its twenty-seven affiliates and patrons (non-voting members).

Juanita Miller Concerto Competition

In 1997, TASO's first president, Juanita Miller, had a vision for an exceptional student concerto competition. Now approaching its 22nd year, the Juanita Miller Concerto Competition is considered among the finest in the state, and provides performance opportunities and financial awards to its distinguished finalists.

20170407 - TASO - 50th Annual All Host Conference - 5747.jpg

Awards of Excellence + Projects

The TASO Awards of Excellence are awarded to a business, patron, legislator, and volunteer, in recognition for outstanding service, support and promotion of the interests and growth of symphony orchestras. Recognized Project Awards are awarded  in the fields of communications & technology, education, fundraising, and leadership & service.


Save the date for the 2018 State Conference, which will be held in San Angelo, April 19-21, 2018. TASO'S 50th Anniversary and Golden Jubilee Celebration was held in Dallas, April 6-8, 2017. This conference repeated the first and very successful "All Host" Dallas Conference  from 2007.